What is Truth?


Pilate saith unto him, What is truth?… John 18:38

I ask you the same.

At a recent church visit I was listening to the words coming from the pulpit and investigating my surroundings. I saw and heard a few things that made me wonder why others that attend do not stop and question. Why are they so brainwashed in their religion that they can’t see what is going on right in front of them? Is it the influence of their added doctrine, or catechism as they call it? I think that has a lot to do with it. God said not to add to or take away from His word. That is His final command. Simply put, you do not need any other book of teaching or any other words of knowledge. Everything, EVERYTHING, you need to know about God and His word is right there in one book. To add to His teaching or change His teaching in any way, shape, or form will lead you from truth.

As I was sitting in that church I prayed for guidance for me and my family not to be led astray. Mostly I prayed for my son. You see, it was his confirmation. After the service was over and we were heading out to greet the new confirmands and the pastor, an image popped in my head.

Yin_Yang

If you are not familiar with this symbol, it is called the yin-yang. It is a Chinese symbol used in many religions. It has several interpretations. One being the white side is male, the dark is female. It is opposites attract. Joining together as one. A balance in nature. It is also used to show good and evil. Evil being the black, good being the white. It’s meaning is that there is a little good in all evil, and a little evil in all good. After I was given this symbol I remembered words I have heard people say in defense of their pastors and preachers. “He is only human and will make mistakes.” This is true. He is human and will make mistakes, however, he is the human that said God led him to the ministry to teach and guide the followers of the Lamb. He should know what is truth before it falls from his lips and not utter a false word contrary to God’s word. And because he is human and will make mistakes, you as followers of the Lamb, need to question his teaching by reading the one and only word of God yourself. Not a watered down gospel because it’s easier to read or some added doctrine that is mandatory of some religions.

While the service was going on and I listened to the pastor speak, I heard some truth. He mentioned many biblical truths but every once in awhile I would hear him say something that was not biblical truth. Perhaps it is in his catechism, but not in my King James. Like when he told my son that he forgave him of his sins like he has some power to save my son’s soul from hell. Man has no power to do so. Only God through the blood of Jesus Christ has the power to forgive your sins and save your soul from hell.

Later in the day I was thinking back on words the pastor spoke that sounded like truth. Putting aside the things he said that were not. I began to think maybe it’s not so bad. It’s not like the pastor was telling people to kill anyone, or commit any crime against God. He spoke of love and sharing. Peace and grace. Following the commandments of God. Just as I was thinking to myself that maybe it isn’t so bad that my son is involved in this because at least he is getting some form of bible teaching other than mine, another image came to me. It was a cold glass of ice water. Crystal clear and pure. “Would you drink this?”. Yes, I thought to myself. Next to it was a dirty, muddy glass of something. Possibly sewage. If I could have smelled it I’m sure that’s what it was. A finger was dipped into the nasty glass of whatever and brought back out, black and dripping with the nasty contents of the dirty glass. Then I saw that same finger with all that yuck travel to the crystal clear glass of water and hover over it while it dripped into the clear glass. Murky streams of black stuff slowly clouding the crystal water. “Would you still drink it?”.

Let me give you an example of the murky black stuff clouding the glass of clear water. Before you read any further, I want you to say the Lord’s Prayer. To yourself, or I would prefer out loud. Your choice.

Now read the truth.

Matthew 6:7-13 But when ye pray, use not vain repetitions, as the heathen do: for they think that they shall be heard for their much speaking. Be not ye therefore like unto them: for your Father knoweth what things ye have need of, before ye ask him. After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen.

There is a difference between trespasses and debts. I have read where people say that the older bible versions say trespasses. My 1611 says debts. I have read where people say that in the Greek it was trespasses. The Greek word “ofeilhmata” means to owe. Even the Lord’s Prayer by Luke’s account in Luke 11 says indebted. And I understand that the Jews gave trespass offerings of forgiveness. You might think to yourself this is harmless. But is it really?  I was laying in bed last night thinking to myself why people don’t take the word of God as serious as they should. I envisioned a court room with no pews, full of guilty people. Charges of treason, rape, murder, lust, thieves, haters, gossipers, lovers of money, selfish, boastful, the proud, the liars, followers of man rather than God, those that thought they were doing right by God but did not know His truth. A Judge was sitting above them. His presence was bright, fearful and stern. The people were gathered around Him, knelled on the ground, some with faces to the floor others with hands clasped and pleading. All were crying and scared. I was watching this and thinking He would forgive these people if they understood the crime they committed but most were just pleading in order to get out the situation. Not sincere in knowing what they did wrong. They just wanted to get back to their life. I can’t say how it turned out as the vision stopped.

What is truth?

John 17:17 Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

John 1:14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.

John 14:6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

The word is truth. The word was made flesh. Jesus is the truth. Jesus is the word. Be sure that word you are being taught is the true Jesus or you are not being taught truth. The day will come when you are standing in that court room and it will be your fault for the things you have been taught and didn’t know, and didn’t care, that it was really a lie.

2 Timothy 2:15 Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

Leaven in the bible is a symbol of evil. Just a little will ruin the whole batch.

1 Corinthians 5:4-8 In the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, when ye are gathered together, and my spirit, with the power of our Lord Jesus Christ, To deliver such an one unto Satan for the destruction of the flesh, that the spirit may be saved in the day of the Lord Jesus. Your glorying is not good. Know ye not that a little leaven leaveneth the whole lump? Purge out therefore the old leaven, that ye may be a new lump, as ye are unleavened. For even Christ our passover is sacrificed for us: Therefore let us keep the feast, not with old leaven, neither with the leaven of malice and wickedness; but with the unleavened bread of sincerity and truth.

If people studied the King James bible, that was before all these others out there that say they are just an easier version of the King James, they would know what is truth. The pastor I listened to read not from a King James. There were things he said that I know is not truth. It was from a crystal clear glass of water with muck clouding it. My guess is it was an NIV. If the NIV was simply just an easier to read remake of the King James, as people claim, then wouldn’t the meaning still be the same? Scientist will tell you that once that muddy filth was added to the clear water, the whole glass is chemically changed. It is no longer the same glass of water. It is contaminated. No longer pure truth.

2 Timothy 4:3-4 For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears; And they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables.

Categories: Bible Study | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.