Why Bad Things Happen to Good People


I find it interesting how people are so quick to place blame on someone else. Even in the garden of Eden blame was thrown from one to the other.

Genesis 3:9-13 And the Lord God called unto Adam, and said unto him, Where art thou? And he said, I heard thy voice in the garden, and I was afraid, because I was naked; and I hid myself. And he said, Who told thee that thou wast naked? Hast thou eaten of the tree, whereof I commanded thee that thou shouldest not eat? And the man said, The woman whom thou gavest to be with me, she gave me of the tree, and I did eat. And the Lord God said unto the woman, What is this that thou hast done? And the woman said, The serpent beguiled me, and I did eat.

No one was innocent, therefore a punishment was given to all. To the serpent, he was cursed above all. To Eve, she was cursed to bring forth children which in turn would follow the curse of Adam, as mankind, and be appointed to die. How sad it is to go through the pain and happiness of childbirth and know that sooner or later that child will die. We are all appointed to die and with death comes pain, illness, heartache, and loss. Because of the sin in the garden the earth was cursed. And so, that is how it is still to this day. Death is a part of life.

Why do bad things happen to good people? O vain and foolish one, there are no good people.

Romans 5:12 Wherefore, as by one man sin entered into the world, and death by sin; and so death passed upon all men, for that all have sinned:

Ecclesiastes 7:20 For there is not a just man upon earth, that doeth good, and sinneth not.

Romans 3:23 For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God;

1 John 1:8 If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.

Romans 3:10-12 As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one: There is none that understandeth, there is none that seeketh after God. They are all gone out of the way, they are together become unprofitable; there is none that doeth good, no, not one.

In the story of Job we find a man that is upstanding with God. God had blessed him with a family, health, and riches. He followed God’s ways and prayed for his children who he knew did not. One day Satan came before God to place blame on mankind as he always does. God pointed out Job who feared God and followed His ways. Satan said Job feared God for no reason because God had provided him with everything but, if God took it all away from him, Job would curse and hate God. So, God told Satan He would allow him to take it all away from Job but, he couldn’t hurt Job physically. Satan took away Job’s children, house, servants, and livestock. In one day, in a matter of minutes, all Job had was gone.

Job 1:22 In all this Job sinned not, nor charged God foolishly.

Satan, not pleased with the outcome, went to God again and told Him that mankind would give up everything he owns to save his life. So, Satan tells God that if He threatens Job’s life, Job will curse and hate God. God then allows Satan to threaten Job’s life but, he was not allowed to take it. Satan smote Job with sore boils from the bottom of his feet to the top of his head. He was in such misery from the pain that he wished he‘d never been born. Job’s wife told him to curse God and die.

Job 2:9-10 Then said his wife unto him, Dost thou still retain thine integrity? curse God, and die. But he said unto her, Thou speakest as one of the foolish women speaketh. What? shall we receive good at the hand of God, and shall we not receive evil? In all this did not Job sin with his lips.

Even Job’s friends agreed with the wife. Amazingly, he did not curse God despite all that happened to him. He understood that it was all a part of this world. The bad with the good, the good with the bad. In the end, God visited Job and blessed him with twice as much as he had before.

I know that if you have or are currently experiencing the pain of this life that is death, or even a handicap or disablement, it will still be hard for you to understand the meaning behind the story of Job. I know you are hurt, maybe even angry. It is alright to feel so. But above all, do not blame God. He loves you and He loves your loved ones. And while right now you might see this tragedy or burden as a punishment or lack of care from God, one day you will see that it was a blessing. And if they or you die with Christ in their/your heart, it’s not the end but only the end with us in this cursed world. There will be a resurrection of the dead and they/you will be met again. So, fear not, those of you in Christ. By affliction, pain, and bad times, God works through us, in us, and with us all.

John 9:1-3 And as Jesus passed by, he saw a man which was blind from his birth. And his disciples asked him, saying, Master, who did sin, this man, or his parents, that he was born blind? Jesus answered, Neither hath this man sinned, nor his parents: but that the works of God should be made manifest in him.

2 Corinthians 4:17-18 For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory; While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal (temporary); but the things which are not seen are eternal (permanent).

Psalms 119:65-75 Thou hast dealt well with thy servant, O Lord, according unto thy word. Teach me good judgment and knowledge: for I have believed thy commandments. Before I was afflicted I went astray: but now have I kept thy word. Thou art good, and doest good; teach me thy statutes. The proud have forged a lie against me: but I will keep thy precepts with my whole heart. Their heart is as fat as grease; but I delight in thy law. It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn thy statutes. The law of thy mouth is better unto me than thousands of gold and silver. Thy hands have made me and fashioned me: give me understanding, that I may learn thy commandments. They that fear thee will be glad when they see me; because I have hoped in thy word. I know, O Lord, that thy judgments are right, and that thou in faithfulness hast afflicted me.

2 Corinthians 12:7-10 And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure. For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me. And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

As a reminder, even Jesus endured affliction and you are not greater then He.

Matthew 19:16-17 And, behold, one came and said unto him, Good Master, what good thing shall I do, that I may have eternal life? And he said unto him, Why callest thou me good? there is none good but one, that is, God: but if thou wilt enter into life, keep the commandments.

Luke 22:41-43 And he was withdrawn from them about a stone’s cast, and kneeled down, and prayed, Saying, Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me: nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done. And there appeared an angel unto him from heaven, strengthening him.

The human part of Jesus was starting to weigh on Him. The sadness of knowing what He was about to go through made Him ask that it not be so, but that it be God’s will. In which it was, otherwise we’d have no hope. God knows what He is doing and we need to trust in His choice to do His will with us on this earth. Just as Jesus did.

I also find it interesting how this question seems to be more relevant than why do good things happen to bad people? Satan wants us to think that during our bad times we are not worthy of God’s love and wants us to give up. So, he places these showy people before us to led us astray.

Psalms 73:2-20 But as for me, my feet were almost gone; my steps had well nigh slipped. For I was envious at the foolish, when I saw the prosperity of the wicked. For there are no bands in their death: but their strength is firm. They are not in trouble as other men; neither are they plagued like other men. Therefore pride compasseth them about as a chain; violence covereth them as a garment. Their eyes stand out with fatness: they have more than heart could wish. They are corrupt, and speak wickedly concerning oppression: they speak loftily. They set their mouth against the heavens, and their tongue walketh through the earth. Therefore his people return hither: and waters of a full cup are wrung out to them. And they say, How doth God know? and is there knowledge in the most High? Behold, these are the ungodly, who prosper in the world; they increase in riches. Verily I have cleansed my heart in vain, and washed my hands in innocency. For all the day long have I been plagued, and chastened every morning. If I say, I will speak thus; behold, I should offend against the generation of thy children. When I thought to know this, it was too painful for me; Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end. Surely thou didst set them in slippery places: thou castedst them down into destruction. How are they brought into desolation, as in a moment! they are utterly consumed with terrors. As a dream when one awaketh; so, O Lord, when thou awakest, thou shalt despise their image.

As you can see, these people may have the good life now but, in the end they get what is coming to them.

Just as Job said, the good come with the bad and the bad with the good. In this life we all will have both.

Ecclesiastes 9:2 All things come alike to all: there is one event to the righteous, and to the wicked; to the good and to the clean, and to the unclean; to him that sacrificeth, and to him that sacrificeth not: as is the good, so is the sinner; and he that sweareth, as he that feareth an oath.

Ecclesiastes 9:11 I returned, and saw under the sun, that the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, neither yet bread to the wise, nor yet riches to men of understanding, nor yet favour to men of skill; but time and chance happeneth to them all.

Our treasures and rewards are not on this earth. Though we must endure struggles, conflict, pain and death, we must stay true and faithful to God in order to receive them from heaven.

Matthew 6:19-21 Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal: But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal: For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.

Those that have their riches now, have all the rewards they will ever get.

Matthew 19:23-24 Then said Jesus unto his disciples, Verily I say unto you, That a rich man shall hardly enter into the kingdom of heaven. And again I say unto you, It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle, than for a rich man to enter into the kingdom of God.

Those “good” things that happen to bad people are only illusions of Satan. They have no idea what they are really missing out on. Don’t want or pray for riches and fame. The riches God has in store for you are far greater than the riches on this earth. Don’t forfeit God’s eternal treasure for you for the temporary treasures in this life. Don’t envy these people. Pray for them.

John 16:33 These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.

Categories: Life & Death | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.