Living in Fear & Worry


The first mention of the word “fear” in the bible is in Genesis 9:2 And the fear of you and the dread of you shall be upon every beast of the earth, and upon every fowl of the air, upon all that moveth upon the earth, and upon all the fishes of the sea; into your hand are they delivered.

Animals fear us because we have dominion over them. Fear is a normal living being emotion. God says not to fear anything but Him.

1 Samuel 12:24 Only fear the Lord, and serve him in truth with all your heart: for consider how great things he hath done for you.

Deuteronomy 8:6 Therefore thou shalt keep the commandments of the Lord thy God, to walk in his ways, and to fear him.

Why should we fear our Lord God? He has dominion over us. He has the power to give life and take away life. Do not fear man, or sickness, or death. Fear only God. Man and sickness may be able to kill your body and remove you from this world but, that is not the end of your “life”. It is the death of your soul you should be concerned with.

Matthew 10:28 And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.

Luke 12:4-5 And I say unto you my friends, Be not afraid of them that kill the body, and after that have no more that they can do. But I will forewarn you whom ye shall fear: Fear him, which after he hath killed hath power to cast into hell; yea, I say unto you, Fear him.

These passages remind me of peer pressure. Imagine that you are in a situation where you are told by a superior to do something you know is wrong in God’s eyes. They tell you if you don’t do it you will be killed. Do you go ahead and do it to save your life or do you stand your ground in God’s word and save your soul? This is very important to understand for in the last days this is exactly what is going to happen.

What you fear is what has dominion, rule, and authority over you.

Hebrews 2:15 And deliver them who through fear of death were all their lifetime subject to bondage.

Ezekiel 11:8 Ye have feared the sword; and I will bring a sword upon you, saith the Lord God.

There is so much fear feeding our world. Every day there is news of violence, destruction, and chaos. These are scary times we live in. You never know when someone may pull a gun on you, rob you, or kidnap you. I know in the last few years several pastors and leaders of God’s flock have started carrying guns and weapons into the churches. This is not the way to teach God’s word. I know they might mean well but so did Peter when he tried to defend Jesus at His arrest.

Matthew 26:52 Then said Jesus unto him, Put up again thy sword into his place: for all they that take the sword shall perish with the sword.

God doesn’t want us living in fear. He wants us to have faith that He will take care of us and that what ever He allows to happen is what will be. We need to trust in His judgement because His ways are righteous. There are so many verses that tell us not to fear because He is with us.

Genesis 15:1 After these things the word of the Lord came unto Abram in a vision, saying, Fear not, Abram: I am thy shield, and thy exceeding great reward.

Deuteronomy 31:6 Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the Lord thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.

Psalms 23:4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Psalms 27:1 The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

Psalms 46:1-3 God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah.

Psalms 56:4 In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.

Psalms 118:6 The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?

Proverbs 3:25 Be not afraid of sudden fear, neither of the desolation of the wicked, when it cometh.

Isaiah 41:10 Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

Isaiah 41:13 For I the Lord thy God will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee, Fear not; I will help thee.

Hebrews 13:6 So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.

Joshua 1:9 Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.

Revelation 2:10 Fear none of those things which thou shalt suffer: behold, the devil shall cast some of you into prison, that ye may be tried; and ye shall have tribulation ten days: be thou faithful unto death, and I will give thee a crown of life.

I saw this commercial on the television a few times. It had to do with letting your doctor do your job and he did it so poorly, so don’t try to do your doctor’s job. Well, you get the idea. God is here to protect us so why are we trying to protect ourselves? God is looking at us and saying,”If you think you can do a better job than I, then go right ahead. You will fail.” What did Jesus say about fear?

Matthew 8:26 And he saith unto them, Why are ye fearful, O ye of little faith? Then he arose, and rebuked the winds and the sea; and there was a great calm.

Mark 4:40 And he said unto them, Why are ye so fearful? how is it that ye have no faith?

Interesting. Jesus says that having fear means you lack faith. Faith in God to protect you.

2 Timothy 1:7 For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

1 John 418 There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love.

Worry is a form of fear. You worry about loved ones, the future of your job, the protection of your home, your health, and so on. Jesus said not to even worry.

Matthew 6:25-27 Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment? Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they? Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit unto his stature?

Do not worry about your life. God takes care of the wildlife and you are far more precious then they are. Can you add time to your life by worrying about it?

Matthew 6:34 Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.

Don’t worry about tomorrow because tomorrow has it’s own problems.

Luke 21:14-15 Settle it therefore in your hearts, not to meditate before what ye shall answer: For I will give you a mouth and wisdom, which all your adversaries shall not be able to gainsay nor resist.

Don’t worry.

By worrying you will only end up focusing on your worries and lose sight of what really matters right now, this second.

We have grown so accustomed to the fear of this world and left behind the fear of God. This is what those gun carrying, lack of faith, church leaders have done to God’s flock.

Isaiah 29:13 Wherefore the Lord said, Forasmuch as this people draw near me with their mouth, and with their lips do honour me, but have removed their heart far from me, and their fear toward me is taught by the precept of men:

Do not follow man’s way in this world. Do not fear the world. Fear God for what He can give you.

Job 28:28 And unto man he said, Behold, the fear of the Lord, that is wisdom; and to depart from evil is understanding.

Fear God for what He can do to you.

Romans 13:4 For he is the minister of God to thee for good. But if thou do that which is evil, be afraid; for he beareth not the sword in vain: for he is the minister of God, a revenger to execute wrath upon him that doeth evil.

Satan wants you to live in fear and worry because by doing so you lose sight of God’s promise to you and Satan will rule over you. Will you live in fear of this world your whole life and let the world have dominion over you or will you live in faith and fear only God so that only He may rule over you?

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

Categories: Life & Death | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.