The Afterlife


The Afterlife

There are so many questions about what happens to us when we die. The bible is full of answers for those who seek them. If you have not done so, please read my study on Life After Death to give more understanding of this study.

As you read my previous study you will note that there is no “coming back” once you are dead. There is a barrier that separates the dead from the living that can not be passed. (See Luke 16:19-31). In 1 Samuel 28:11-15 we see that the Witch of Endor was asked to summon Samuel. She was surprised to see that the real Samuel was brought forth as she was expecting a familiar spirit. This story of Samuel is the exception. It was God’s doing to have Samuel deliver a message to Saul.

God does not want us contacting the dead. Reason being is because it is all too easy for Satan and his angels to deceive humans, especially when they are vulnerable from the pain of communicating with a dead loved one.

Leviticus 19:31 Regard not them that have familiar spirits, neither seek after wizards, to be defiled by them: I am the Lord your God.

Leviticus 20:6 And the soul that turneth after such as have familiar spirits, and after wizards, to go a whoring after them, I will even set my face against that soul, and will cut him off from among his people.

Leviticus 20:27 A man also or woman that hath a familiar spirit, or that is a wizard, shall surely be put to death: they shall stone them with stones: their blood shall be upon them.

Deuteronomy 18:10-12 There shall not be found among you any one that maketh his son or his daughter to pass through the fire, or that useth divination, or an observer of times, or an enchanter, or a witch. a charmer, or a consulter with familiar spirits, or a wizard, or a necromancer. For all that do these things are an abomination unto the Lord: and because of these abominations the Lord thy God doth drive them out from before thee.

1 Chronicles 10:13-14 So Saul died for his transgression which he committed against the Lord, even against the word of the Lord, which he kept not, and also for asking counsel of one that had a familiar spirit, to enquire of it; And enquired not of the Lord: therefore he slew him, and turned the kingdom unto David the son of Jesse.

What are familiar spirits? They are not your dead family or friends. They are deceivers. They are Satan’s angels that have roamed this earth for always and have learned many things about you, your family, your friends, and this life. Naturally, with that knowledge they will know things that you thought only you and that loved one knew. These are the ones that follow us daily and put evil thoughts in our head. They cause others to do things that might annoy us or even provoke us to do evil. Anything they can to led us from God. They want our attention so they might be able to get closer into our lives and destroy it. Your willingness to play their games give them strength to do just that.

2 Corinthians 11:14 And no marvel; for Satan himself is transformed into an angel of light.

The dead do not come back.

2 Samuel 12:23 But now he is dead, wherefore should I fast? can I bring him back again? I shall go to him, but he shall not return to me.

But, we will be raised again when Christ returns. And not until.

Isaiah 26:19 Thy dead men shall live, together with my dead body shall they arise. Awake and sing, ye that dwell in dust: for thy dew is as the dew of herbs, and the earth shall cast out the dead.

John 14:2-3 In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.

John 5:24-25 Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that heareth my word, and believeth on him that sent me, hath everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life. Verily, verily, I say unto you, The hour is coming, and now is, when the dead shall hear the voice of the Son of God: and they that hear shall live.

John 5:28-29 Marvel not at this: for the hour is coming, in the which all that are in the graves shall hear his voice, And shall come forth; they that have done good, unto the resurrection of life; and they that have done evil, unto the resurrection of damnation.

What will it be like when we are raised from the dead and enter the kingdom to be with our Father?

We will no longer remember this life .

Psalms 146:4 His breath goeth forth, he returneth to his earth; in that very day his thoughts perish.

Isaiah 65:17 For, behold, I create new heavens and a new earth: and the former shall not be remembered, nor come into mind.

God promises to wipe away our tears and give us joy. To remember this world includes remembering the pain that came with it.

We will recognize each other.

1 Corinthians 13:10-12 But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away. When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.

We will have a renewed body. The resurrection of Jesus Christ was a picture of our resurrection. His tomb was empty. No body. When He appeared to His followers they didn’t immediately recognize Him so, there must be a difference between the body we die with and the body we are resurrected with. Christ still had the holes in His feet and hands and told them He was flesh and bone, to show them He was not a ghost.

There will be no more marriage or reproduction.

Matthew 22:29-30 Jesus answered and said unto them, Ye do err, not knowing the scriptures, nor the power of God. For in the resurrection they neither marry, nor are given in marriage, but are as the angels of God in heaven.

And while I still don’t fully understand this, we will eat and drink. Obviously not for survival, so I wonder if this eat and drink are different from what we know in this life.

Luke 22:29-30 And I appoint unto you a kingdom, as my Father hath appointed unto me; That ye may eat and drink at my table in my kingdom, and sit on thrones judging the twelve tribes of Israel.

Luke 22:15-18 And he said unto them, With desire I have desired to eat this passover with you before I suffer: For I say unto you, I will not any more eat thereof, until it be fulfilled in the kingdom of God. And he took the cup, and gave thanks, and said, Take this, and divide it among yourselves: For I say unto you, I will not drink of the fruit of the vine, until the kingdom of God shall come.

Often times in the bible the angels that visit us eat and drink among us. Maybe just to “fit” in so they aren’t noticed as to who they are. I don’t know. It’s fascinating non-the-less.

As you can see, there is no communicating with a dead loved one. If you believe you have contact or are being watched over by a loved one, you have been fooled by a familiar spirit. I once thought my dad was watching over me. Things would happen in my home that seemed like things he would do because he was such a jokester. Like moving my chair, hiding my tea. Silly little things. When we moved from that house I said out loud that no spirits were invited to go with me except my dad. I have not had the feeling of his presence since. I was fooled before I learned the truth. They will act like and even manifest smells to fool you into thinking they are a loved one. Make it known out loud that they are not welcomed and to leave your presence in the name of Jesus Christ.

Categories: Life & Death | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.