Is Jesus God?


I have read on a forum where many atheists and so called christians posted their opinions on this matter. It saddens me and to a degree, even angers me, what some of these people say. It is one thing not to share the same belief, it is another to make a fool of yourself with hateful remarks and not so thought out or educated “knowledge”.

It was said that Jesus never claimed to be God. Therefore, we are not to worship Him. Do these people really read the bible? I’m not talking about atheists, Jews, or Muslims, because I know they do not read the christian scriptures with a sincere desire to understand. I am talking about christians themselves. However, I would like to note that Jews and Muslims do not deny that Jesus lived on this earth. Muslims believe that Jesus was a prophet who will one day return only to die again. Jews believe He was merely a blasphemous man because if He were God He could not have died on the cross since God can not die. A case of admitting truth with denial. Jesus died in the flesh and yet He still lives.

John 10:30-33 I and my Father are one. Then the Jews took up stones again to stone him. Jesus answered them, Many good works have I shewed you from my Father; for which of those works do ye stone me? The Jews answered him, saying, For a good work we stone thee not; but for blasphemy; and because that thou, being a man, makest thyself God.

The Jews understood that Jesus was claiming deity.

John 8:58 Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am.

God said He is “I am” when Moses asked His name.

Matthew 4:6-7 And saith unto him, If thou be the Son of God, cast thyself down: for it is written, He shall give his angels charge concerning thee: and in their hands they shall bear thee up, lest at any time thou dash thy foot against a stone. Jesus said unto him, It is written again, Thou shalt not tempt the Lord thy God.

Satan was tempting Jesus who said not to tempt the Lord thy God.

There are many passages of the desciples claiming Jesus as God but I only wanted to point out that Jesus Himself claimed deity.

It is hard for us to fully understand the trinity but, if you are a bible believing christian and you believe that Jesus died on the cross for your sins and rose again after 3 days then you must believe that Jesus was God in the flesh.

For in the beginning was the word and the word was made flesh.

Categories: Bible Study | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.