Love The Sinner, Hate The Sin


I recently read an article where a man was arrested for preaching homosexuality as a sin. Mind you, he was not speaking of only homosexuality, but sexual impurities as a whole. Lusts of the flesh that even heterosexuals commit. But the thing that got me was the questions he was asked by the police after his arrest.

An article by ChristianNews.net quotes Tony Miano, “It was surreal because I was interrogated about my faith in Jesus Christ,” Miano said. “I was asked if I believe that homosexuality is a sin. I was asked what portion of the Bible I was reading. I was asked if a homosexual was hungry and walked up to me, would I give them something to eat.”

http://www.christiannewswire.com/news/7921672394.html

I don’t know what his answer was for that last question but, I pray he said “Yes”.

So many churches preach against sin with such hate and contempt. Like sinners are diseased parasites that should be done away with, not fully understanding that they, too, are sinners. Or, perhaps they do know they are sinners and try to bring attention to others’ sins to hide their own. But, that would be foolish as God knows everything you do even if man does not. Yet, there they stand trying so hard to look righteous. Trying so hard to sound important with words from their lips. They are fools.

1 John 4:20-21 If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar: for he that loveth not his brother whom he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not seen? And this commandment have we from him, That he who loveth God love his brother also.

No, this is not speaking of immediate family brothers but all mankind as brothers. We are all children of God.

I do not know what was truly in this man’s heart when he was preaching so, I am not “picking”on him. This goes to all whom preach the word of God. Don’t preach with hate in your heart. Preach out of love and caring for a soul who may not know truth otherwise.

Luke 24:47 And that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in his name among all nations, beginning at Jerusalem.

If you are going to preach, make sure you “practice what you preach”.

Matthew 7:3-5 And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye? Or how wilt thou say to thy brother, Let me pull out the mote out of thine eye; and, behold, a beam is in thine own eye? Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye.

A few years ago near halloween, a customer came through my line. She asked me what I was going to be for halloween. I told her that I didn’t participate in halloween. She asked me why. I told her it was against my religion. She then asked me what my religion was. When I told her I was a  christian she was surprised and said she was christian, too. I left the conversation at that and moved onto the next customer praying that I planted a seed in her heart. Telling people what they should and shouldn’t do is only going to make them want to be rebellious. That is human nature. I have many friends and family that do participate in halloween but, I don’t tell them they are going to hell. I love them and pray that through my actions they will want to learn why I don’t. And, when they ask, I pray for God to give me the right words that will lead them in the right direction. Lead by example.

I also have a few homosexual acquaintances/friends. I don’t join them in their follies or hang out with them on any kind of a basis but, I don’t snub them or refuse to speak to them because of their choices. I have through my messages given them biblical views on the matter. If they choose not to read, listen, or have a desire to understand, that is their choice. But I will not push them away for being who they are. I feel strong enough in my faith now that the more they are around me, the better chance they have.

There is a girl where I work who is wiccan. She has so much to offer but is offering it up to wrong one. I don’t tell her she is going to hell for being a wiccan. I ask her questions of why she made that choice. She comes from a family that preaches of sinners going to hell and they tell her that is where she is going. She doesn’t need to hear it from me, too. She said she chose wiccan because she felt she didn’t belong. By the stories she tells of her parents, not even a true christain would belong. She says the bible teaches contradictions between the old and new testament. That is because her parents are trying to follow both. You just can’t do that as a true christain. I give her more “words of wisdom” then preaching to her. I can only pray that she hears what I say to her and one day she will ask me questions.

True preaching of the gospel is not being bossy or better than someone else or being a know-it-all but, offering guidance and love to those who don’t receive it from any other source. You can love your alcoholic son or drug addicted daughter and still hate the things they do enough to try and guide them down the right path. Why can’t it be the same for an acquaintance, friend, or stranger? Don’t fight or struggle with them and cause a resistance. It will push them further away until they see God as an absolute enemy and never have any desire to know Him.

1 Corinthians 8:12 But when ye sin so against the brethren, and wound their weak conscience, ye sin against Christ.

Jesus sat with sinners. He wasn’t rude or bossy or pushy. These people enjoyed being in His presence.

Matthew 9:10-13 And it came to pass, as Jesus sat at meat in the house, behold, many publicans and sinners came and sat down with him and his disciples. And when the Pharisees saw it, they said unto his disciples, Why eateth your Master with publicans and sinners? But when Jesus heard that, he said unto them, They that be whole need not a physician, but they that are sick. But go ye and learn what that meaneth, I will have mercy, and not sacrifice: for I am not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.

It is told all through out the bible how much God hates sin. But if you still need proof that God loves the sinner, read about Solomon.

Nehemiah 13:26 Did not Solomon king of Israel sin by these things? yet among many nations was there no king like him, who was beloved of his God, and God made him king over all Israel: nevertheless even him did outlandish women cause to sin.

Solomon was a woman’s man. He loved all manner of women and had so many wives and mistresses. These women didn’t share his faith in the same God. They had Solomon build them altars and places of worship for their gods, which Solomon strayed after. In all that, God still loved him.

Matthew 5:43-45 Ye have heard that it hath been said, Thou shalt love thy neighbour, and hate thine enemy. But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you; That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.

Romans 13:10 Love worketh no ill to his neighbour: therefore love is the fulfilling of the law.

Luke 6:32-36 For if ye love them which love you, what thank have ye? for sinners also love those that love them. And if ye do good to them which do good to you, what thank have ye? for sinners also do even the same. And if ye lend to them of whom ye hope to receive, what thank have ye? for sinners also lend to sinners, to receive as much again. But love ye your enemies, and do good, and lend, hoping for nothing again; and your reward shall be great, and ye shall be the children of the Highest: for he is kind unto the unthankful and to the evil. Be ye therefore merciful, as your Father also is merciful.

Matthew 24:34-40 Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me. Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink?When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee? Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee? And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

*********************************************************************************

Romans 12:9-21 Let love be without dissimulation. Abhor that which is evil; cleave to that which is good. Be kindly affectioned one to another with brotherly love; in honour preferring one another; Not slothful in business; fervent in spirit; serving the Lord; Rejoicing in hope; patient in tribulation; continuing instant in prayer; Distributing to the necessity of saints; given to hospitality. Bless them which persecute you: bless, and curse not. Rejoice with them that do rejoice, and weep with them that weep. Be of the same mind one toward another. Mind not high things, but condescend to men of low estate. Be not wise in your own conceits. Recompense to no man evil for evil. Provide things honest in the sight of all men. If it be possible, as much as lieth in you, live peaceably with all men. Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, Vengeance is mine; I will repay, saith the Lord. Therefore if thine enemy hunger, feed him; if he thirst, give him drink: for in so doing thou shalt heap coals of fire on his head. Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.

In loving manner help these souls find their way but, let God give the punishment if they choose not to hear you because you have to also be mindful of your own path of righteousness. You are not perfect either.

Revelation 3:19 As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.

Categories: Bible Study | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Love The Sinner, Hate The Sin

  1. Pingback: End Times Prophecy Headlines: July 13-14, 2013 | End Times Prophecy Report

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.